No bikes allowed!

If you recall, my last story ended with me losing my wallet and drinking myself into oblivion. The next few days were tough; after 30 hours of hunger I had to ask my friends to lend me some money for food, but to everyone’s surprise, after 3 days my wallet was found. Aoko and I went to the police station to pick it up and everything was in there; yes, ALL of my money too. Surprised doesn’t seem to cover it, but I’m really thankful to the person who found and returned my wallet. Since I didn’t write much during my hunger phases, I will continue with the entries that come after finding it.

So, people went out drinking last night for a goodbye party and we took the chance to attend, since we hadn’t gone out in a while. I don’t know where the Russian guys got the idea that I can keep up with their drinking but the night was opened as such:

“Let’s do tequila shots!” – I think I’ve heard this simple sentence way too often in this past week and a half.

“I’m gonna get a gin and tonic.” I pointlessly tried to resist.

“No, no, first a shot.”

You can imagine that became “One more shot” quite soon and at some point I felt drinking anything else might be more dangerous than keeping on the same track. Luckily I had the good idea of ordering a pizza. By the way, the pizza here is laughable; just pointing it out. We ate an awful lot of it though, being the only food available(There were other types of food, but they were more like snacks and less like ‘I’m going to eat this so I don’t get so drunk’ food).

Two of the guys liked some girls so they asked Alex’s girlfriend to introduce them. I did not realize that. As a result I went and joined in the conversation; sorry guys. I learned a new word, “Mitoreru”, which means “to be fascinated by”. I’m glad I have a dictionary on my phone; holding conversations would be difficult otherwise. The girls were really impressed by our drinking skills. Yes, mine too, even though I made it clear I can’t keep up with my Russian friends.

A very interesting event was started by Alex’s girlfriend, Yuuki(She was from Belarus actually, but said that the translation of her name in Japanese would be Yuuki, so let’s call her that for now). For some reason, there was a stripping pole in the middle of the bar that night, so Yuuki tried to be cool and climbed it, then attempted to hold herself with only her legs. I said attempted, so I guess you know where this is going. (No? How about if I link this?) Well, anyway, she fell from 2 meters high on a glass that shattered under her and she got up perfectly fine with just a half centimeter scratch. Belarus women are tough…

Interesting fact about women in Japan. The ones that I thought were about my age; they were around 30. Basically…

Anyway, at around 4:20 we left the bar. 11 of us came in, 4 of us went out. The other people from the dorm fled pretty soon, that wasn’t really a surprise, but one of the Russians was unaccounted for. Apparently he had some adventures of his own, of which he couldn’t remember much, but still the most notable was that he went through Tanuki Koji and noticed a guy riding his bike through there. Now, something to note is that there are signs forbidding you to ride your bike through Tanuki Koji, which makes sense since it’s mostly crowded. Some Japanese guy was probably taking a shortcut through there, since it was early morning and there weren’t many people. When my Russian friend saw him, he pushed the poor man off his bike while yelling at him and pointing at the “no bikes” sign. He’s embarrassed about it today(From then on, whenever I saw some Japanese person cross the street on a red light I’d tell him to go punch them).

IMAG0419(Tanuki Koji)

Fin.

 

This entry was posted in Japanese Language (日本語). Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment